Article 16 of the Protocol Relating to the Establishment of the Peace and Security Council of the African Union, recognizes the Regional Mechanisms as part of the overall security architecture of the Union, which has the primary responsibility for promoting peace, security and stability in Africa. In this regard, PAPS Repository shall document the key outcomes (mainly Communiques) relating to Peace and Security from the RECs/RMS. The RECs shall include: Arab Maghreb Union (UMA); Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA); Community of Sahel–Saharan States (CEN–SAD); East African Community (EAC); Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS); Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS); Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD) and Southern African Development Community (SADC).

Collections in this community